RPCV Journalism & Photography Awards

Conditions of Entry

Entries must have been published or broadcast between July 1st and June 30th of the Awards year.

Each entry must be accompanied by a pdf or link that shows the published or broadcast work. Hard copy entries will not be considered.

Each entry must be accompanied by an explanation (up to 200 words) of the story’s context, its target audience, and relevant background information.

Entrants may submit only one entry per category.

Entrants may only submit an individual entry once – the same story cannot be entered into multiple categories.

If a piece is submitted in more than one category, it will not be eligible in any of them. The exception is where a piece forms part of a portfolio entered into Journalist of the Year, Photographer of the Year, Young Journalist of the year or Media Outlet of the Year.

Check the criteria for each category: entries which do not fit the criteria will not be considered.



Photo entries must include a Jpeg of the entry and a PDF of the page from the publication in which the photo appeared.

Entrants may enter up to three photographs in each category, but the same photograph may not be entered in more than one category.

Photographic entries may be colour or black and white.


Who can enter

Entrants may reside anywhere in Australia, but entries must have a direct relevance to Victoria and the RPCV catchment area (Victoria, Sunraysia, Riverina, Albury and south-east of South Australia and Tasmania).

Entry to the Awards is a benefit of RPCV membership, no entry fee applies to financial members of the RPCV.
An entry fee of $30 is applicable to all non-financial members of the RPCV. A one-off fee of $30 will cover multiple entries by an individual into the RPCV Awards. This fee includes a 12-month RPCV membership.



A young journalist must be aged 25 years or younger on June 30, 2021. Young journalist entries must be verified by their Editor/employer.

If fewer than three entries are received in a category, the RPCV has the discretion to vary the prize money or submit the entry(s) to another category.

Judges can nominate entrants for Journalist of the Year or Photographer of the Year at their discretion.
Stories commissioned and approved by an organisation to which the content relates are ineligible to enter.

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.



Category winners receive $500 and a trophy.

Winners of the Journalist of the Year and Photographer of the Year each receive $1,000 and a trophy.

Winners of the Young Journalist of the Year receives $1,000 and a trophy.

Winner of the Media Outlet of the Year receives a trophy.



Entries close at midnight on Friday 6th August, 2021. Late entries will not be considered.