The Rural Press Club of Victoria

The Club

The Rural Press Club of Victoria was founded in 1966 by a group of rural journalists and public relations consultants. It was formed to offer a forum for fellowship for people involved in the rural industry.

Rural Journalism Awards

A major event conducted by the Rural Press Club in August each year is the Rural Journalism and Photography Awards. The prestigious Awards are hotly contested by journalists and photographers from across the State, and the presentation ceremony culminates in a dinner where the winners are honoured for their efforts.


One of the main activities of the Rural Press Club of Victoria is its breakfast or lunch meetings which help foster fellowship among rural media practitioners. Influential and often outspoken speakers present their thoughts on issues of significance to the communities of rural and regional Victoria.


The Rural Press Club of Victoria holds a biannual Rural and Regional Journalism Seminar. This professional development day for regional journalists offers the opportunity to learn from some of Victoria’s leading journalists, network with your peers and work through current challenges of regional reporting. This event is free to Rural Press Club of Victoria members and catering is provided.


The Rural Press Club is open to membership to all people interested in the rural industry. The Club has both a country and metropolitan base from both print and electronic media. Other members include agribusiness organisations, financial, government, marketing and public relations.


The Rural Press Club is grateful for the support offered by its Gold and Silver sponsors. To find out about becoming a sponsor of the club, please contact Laura Poole on 0402 046 742.

Gold Sponsors: Agriculture Victoria, Telstra

Silver Sponsors: TAC, CFA, The Weekly Times, Stock and Land, Marcus Oldham, Currie Communications

Executive Committee

The 2019/20 Executive Committee of the Rural Press Club of Victoria includes:

President: TBA

Deputy President: Bryce Eishold

Stock & Land

Secretary: Nicole Cairns

Agriculture Victoria

Treasurer: Laura Griffin

Currie Communications


Executive Committee Members:

  • Laura Poole, ABC Regional
  • Rex Martinich, The Daily Advertiser
  • Joely Mitchell, Stock and Land
  • Melanie Curtis, Agriculture Victoria
  • Simone Smith, Free Range Ag (Freelance Journalist)
  • Sian Johnson, ABC Regional
  • Natalie Kotsios, The Weekly Times
  • Sarah Lawrence, 9 News Central Victoria

Association Rules

The Rural Press Club of Victoria adopted new Association Rules at its 2013 Annual General Meeting. Click here to download the rules.