The Australian Council of Agricultural Journalists (ACAJ) together with national sponsor Kubota, the world’s largest manufacturers of farm and industrial machinery, launched the 2013 Kubota Australian Star Prize for Rural Writing at a breakfast hosted by the Victorian Rural Press club today in Melbourne.

The Kubota Australian Star Prize for Rural Writing recognises and rewards excellence in print or on-line journalism in the rural sector with an international professional opportunity valued at $5000.

Launching the competition at the Rural Press club in Melbourne this morning Kubota Marketing Manager Mark Taylor said Kubota was proud to support this award for the second time.

“This is an outstanding award that rewards and celebrates some of this country’s best rural journalists,” Taylor said. “ At Kubota we understand the important role that rural journalists play in regional Australia. By supporting this award we are supporting the rural and regional communities that are part of the Kubota network.”

The award is run annually by the ACAJ in association with Australia’s five State-based rural media clubs which select finalists to represent them in the competition.

The national winner will represents Australia in the prestigious international award program at the International Federation of Agriculture Journalists (IFAJ) conference to be held in Buenos Aires in Argentina in September.  The prize includes airfares and registration fees up to the value of $5,000, provided by Kubota. The IFAJ annual conference is a gathering of rural journalists from around the world.

 President of the ACAJ Tim Powell congratulated Kubota on again taking up the sponsorship of this major national rural writing award.

“It is great to see a global farm machinery company like Kubota supporting our rural journalists here in Australia,” Powell said. “Without the support of organisations like Kubota we would not be able to continue to offer this rare opportunity for professional development.”

Journalists should contact their local press club for details about how to enter.

Further information is also available from the ACAJ website – or by contacting national award print coordinator, Genevieve McAulay, phone 0428 279 576 or email